Visiting Choirs

We warmly welcome choirs to sing services during the Cathedral Choir’s breaks. Southwell is a beautiful town, and the Minster is a delight in which to sing – most choirs who have come here book in for a return trip. If your choir is experienced in singing liturgical music, and especially used to Cathedral visits, then why not consider coming to Southwell? We value the chance to continue our rich tradition of choral worship when the Cathedral Choir is not in residence, and aim to be friendly and approachable.

To apply, please have a look at our available dates further down this page, then fill in the Visit Request Form below. If you have any questions about coming to Southwell as a visiting choir, please contact Alastair Clarke, Liturgy and Music Administrator, at alastair.clarke@southwellminster.org.uk.

Here are the dates that are currently available for visiting choirs to book. In addition to this list, it is possible to sing Evensong on most Wednesday afternoons in term-time, as this is usually the Cathedral Music Department’s day off.

2021

Friday 1 October
Monday 18 October - Friday 22 October
Monday 25 October - Wednesday 27 October
Friday 29 October
Tuesday 16 November
Monday 22 November
Tuesday 7 December
Sunday 26 December

Monday 27 December - Saturday 1 January

2022

Monday 3 January - Wednesday 5 January
Monday 14 February - Sunday 20 February
Monday 4 April - Saturday 9 April
Friday 22 April
Monday 2 May
Monday 30 May - Saturday 6 June
Tuesday 30 August - Friday 2 September
Monday 5 September
Saturday 15 October
Monday 17 October - Friday 21 October
Monday 24 October - Wednesday 26 October
Monday 26 December - Tuesday 27 December
Saturday 31 December - Sunday 1 January 2023

2023

Monday 2 January - Wednesday 4 January
Saturday 11 February
Monday 13 February - Sunday 19 February
Monday 10 April - Thursday 13 April
Monday 17 April - Sunday 23 April
Monday 1 May
Saturday 27 May
Monday 29 May - Sunday 4 June
Monday 7 August - Tuesday 8 August
Monday 14 August - Sunday 20 August
October half-term dates TBC
Tuesday 26 December - Sunday 31 December