Visiting Choirs

We warmly welcome choirs to sing services during the Cathedral Choir’s breaks. Southwell is a beautiful town, and the Minster is a delight in which to sing – most choirs who have come here book in for a return trip. If your choir is experienced in singing liturgical music, and especially used to Cathedral visits, then why not consider coming to Southwell? We value the chance to continue our rich tradition of choral worship when the Cathedral Choir is not in residence, and aim to be friendly and approachable.

To apply, please have a look at our available dates further down this page, then fill in the Visit Request Form below. If you have any questions about coming to Southwell as a visiting choir, please contact Alastair Clarke, Liturgy and Music Administrator, at alastair.clarke@southwellminster.org.uk.

Here are the dates that are currently available for visiting choirs to book. In addition to this list, it is possible to sing Evensong on most Wednesday afternoons in term-time, as this is usually the Cathedral Music Department’s day off.

2023

Sunday 1 January
Monday 2 January - Wednesday 4 January
Monday 13 February - Friday 17 February
Monday 10 April (Easter Monday *)
Monday 17 April - Sunday 23 April
Monday 1 May (Bank Holiday *)
Monday 29 May - Thursday 1 June
Monday 31st July - Sunday 6th August
Monday 7 August - Tuesday 8 August
Monday 23 October - Thursday 26 October
Monday 30 October - Wednesday 1 November+
Tuesday 26 December - Sunday 31 December

* Visiting choirs would need to note that on these Bank Holiday dates there will be an organ recital at 3.30pm which would severely limit choir rehearsal time in the building immediately prior to Evensong at 5.30pm
+ A visiting choir to sing a 7pm Sung Eucharist at the Minster on All Saints Day 2023 would be particularly welcome.