Music In The State Chamber (MISC) – Southwell String Quartet

The Southwell String Quartet (David Wood, Catharine Lester, Andrew Chadwick and Margaret Chadwick) return to explore the beginnings of the Classical and Romantic eras of quartet writing. They trace the journey of the string quartet from its origins with Alessandro Scarlatti in early eighteenth-century Italy, through Moravia and Joseph Haydn’s Austria, to the Leipzig and Berlin of Felix and Fanny Mendelssohn, ending with the young Sergei Rachmaninoff’s rare and rediscovered string quartet movements, composed towards the end of the nineteenth century.

Join us for a drinks reception from 6.30pm in the Walled Garden of the Archbishop’s Palace (weather permitting)

Starts 7.30pm | Refreshments from 7pm
Free admission with retiring collection (Suggested donation £5)

To view the MISC programme for the year, please click here.

Event Details

  • Date:
  • Venue: State Chamber