How we are Organised

Southwell Minster is governed by Chapter with support and oversight from the Cathedral Council and College of Canons. The Cathedral employs approximately 32 members of staff (some part time) who are organised into music, vergers, property, marketing, finance, education and administration. The Minster Team are aided by 300 volunteers that represent 60 different groups.


The Cathedral Chapter is the governing authority for the Cathedral, and is made up of both clergy and lay members. Chapter is responsible for all aspects of its life and mission. Chapter is chaired by the Dean, the Very Reverend Nicola Sullivan. Other members include, two residentiary canons (a senior member of the clergy connected to the Cathedral), one canon, two lay persons elected by the Annual Parochial Church Meeting and 4 other lay members (experienced members of the wider community who are not ordained). The Cathedral Administrator (Chief Operating Officer) also attends Chapter meetings. Chapter shares information with both the College of Canons and the Cathedral Council.

Nicola Sullivan

Nicola Sullivan
Dean of Southwell

The Very Reverend Nicola Sullivan

The Revd Canon Dr Richard Frith

Canon Precentor

The Reverend Canon Dr Richard Frith

Residentiary Canon.

This position is currently vacant.

Andrew Corner

Andrew Corner
Lay Member elected by the Annual Parochial Church Meeting

Mr Andrew Corner

Vicky Thorpe

Vicky Thorpe
Lay Member elected by the Annual Parochial Church Meeting

Mrs Vicky Thorpe

Jan Richardson

Jan Richardson
Lay Member elected by the Annual Parochial Church Meeting

Mrs Jan Richardson

Tim Richmond

Tim Richmond
Lay Member appointed by the Bishop

Colonel Tim Richmond

Richard Vigar

Richard Vigar
Lay Member appointed by the Bishop

Mr Richard Vigar

Shaun Boney

Shaun Boney
Lay Member appointed by the Bishop

Mr Shaun Boney

Phil Blinston

Phil Blinston
Lay Member appointed by the Bishop

Canon Phil Blinston

Adele Poulson

Cathedral Administrator (Chief Operating Officer)

Mrs Adele Poulson

As stated in the Cathedral’s Measure (1999) The Chapter is advised by:

  • The Fabric Advisory Committee, which oversees planning and fabric matters – this is chaired by Mr Allan Joyce
  • The Finance Committee, which oversees financial and investment strategy – this is chaired by Colonel Tim Richmond
  • The Finance Audit and Risk Committee (FARC) is chaired by a member of the Finance Committee and ensures the Cathedral Chapter complies with all its legal and auditing processes and polices FARC are also responsible for the Cathedrals Risk Register and for ensuring processes are in place to mitigate the risks identified.

Please click here to read the Chapter Member Role Description.

A number of other boards and committees contribute to the Cathedral’s life and mission.

Annual Report and Accounts

Southwell Cathedral Chapter Annual Report and Accounts year ended 31 December 2018.

Cathedral Council

The Cathedral Council meets three times a year (including one joint meeting with the Chapter) and is chaired by His Honour Tony Mitchell. The bishop attends and speaks at the Council although he is not a member.

Members of Council include:

  • Judge Anthony P. Mitchell (Chairman)
  • Colonel T S Richmond MBE TD DL, Vice Lord-Lieutenant of Nottinghamshire
  • The Rt Revd Paul Williams, The Bishop of Southwell & Nottingham
  • The Very Revd Nicola Sullivan, Dean of Southwell
  • Mr Peter Gibbins
  • Cllr David Mellen
  • Mr Roy Pearson
  • Mr Christopher Perrett
  • Mr David Shannon
  • Mr Richard Vigar
  • Mrs Jan Richardson MBE

College of Canons

The College of Canons meets three times a year to discuss how best to release gifts and expertise from the College to engage its members more fully in the life of the Cathedral, and likewise the Cathedral in the life of the Diocese.

Members of the College are:

  • The Very Revd Nicola Sullivan, Dean of Southwell
  • The Right Revd Anthony Porter, Bishop of Sherwood
  • The Ven. Phil Williams, Archdeacon of Nottingham
  • The Ven. David Picken, Archdeacon of Newark
  • The Revd Canon Mark Adams
  • The Revd Canon Paul Bentley
  • The Revd Canon Bronwen Gamble
  • The Revd Canon Julian Hemstock
  • The Revd Canon Barbara Holbrook
  • The Revd Canon Alan Howe
  • The Revd Canon Peter Huxtable
  • The Revd Canon Dr Richard Kellett
  • The Revd Canon Fiona Shouler
  • The Revd Canon Steve Silvester
  • The Revd Canon Phil Williams
  • Canon Michael Arlington
  • Canon Philip Blinston
  • Canon John Loughton
  • Canon Elizabeth Rose
  • Canon Nigel Spraggins
  • The Revd Canon David Shearman
  • The Revd Canon Christian Weaver
  • The Revd Canon Professor Alison Milbank, Canon Theologian